Dane County Map

Who We Are

We're the local health department for Madison and Dane County, Wisconsin. With a staff of more than 250 people, we serve over 560,000 people in more than 60 cities, villages, and towns. 

Our Vision

Healthy People. Healthy Places.

Our Mission

Working with the community to enhance, protect, and promote the health of the environment and the well-being of all people.

Executive Leadership Team

Our leadership team works with the Board of Health to provide oversight and guidance.

Janel Heinrich, MPH, MA

Director – Public Health Madison & Dane County

Kate Austin Stanford, MPH, MPA

Director – Operations Division

Bonnie Koenig, MPH/EH, RS

Director – Environmental Health Division

Carl Meyer, MPH

Director – Community Health Division

Aurielle Smith, MPH

Director – Policy, Planning & Evaluation Division

What We Do

Our work breaks down into three main categories:

Learn more

Past Annual Reports


You Are Welcome Here

We strive to treat everyone equally and respectfully. That means we provide services regardless of:

  • race
  • color
  • gender/gender expression
  • ability
  • religion
  • sexual orientation
  • place of birth
  • citizenship